Lily Does L.A. by Nicola Doherty

Name: Lily Does L.A. (Girls on Tour #2)
Author: Nicola Doherty
Format: ebook
Pages: 76 pages
Release date: 24th September 2014
Publisher: Headline

Teaser

Lily is an actress. At least, that's what she tells people, even though she's currently working in a call centre and her last big part was an ad for Sofa Warehouse. So when she's invited to her cousin Alice's wedding in LA, it's a dream come true. Alice's fiancĂ© Sam is actually a Hollywood agent; how can Lily fail to get talent-spotted? 

There's only one problem; not only is Lily banned from mentioning acting, parts or producers to Sam, she's expected to spend the entire week doing wedding-related prep with Sam's boring groomsman Jesse. But Lily firmly believes that rules were made to be broken ...


My thoughts

I kindly received Lily Does L.A. in exchange of an honest review by the publisher via NetGalley.

Girls on Tour is a series of five interlinked e-novellas about four friends who find fun, romance and adventure abroad. It features glamorous locations and hot men, The e-novellas are coming out between July 2014 and April 2015. Lastly, Girls on Tour brings all five novellas together in one volume with extra material, published in ebook and paperback in April 2015. Lily Does L.A. is the second instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk's I Heart... novels. Eventhough it is part of a series, you can read it as an stand alone novella too.

In this installment we meet Lily, a young british woman and aspiring actress. For paying her bills, she is currently working at a call center. To make her job bearable she is practising her accents on the phone with the customers. Her boss is not very pleased about that and fires her. There could have been a better timing for the wedding invitation of Lily's cousin Alice to turn up. This is just what she needs. It's a dream to come true for Lily to finally visit the United States and be spotted for a blockbuster. This shoudn't be much of a problem because Alice husband to be as an hollywood agent. He will help her out, won't he? When Lily arrives in L.A., she is supposed to help Alice with the last - minute organization of the wedding. Rather helping with the wedding organisation Lily pretty much turns her cousins world upside down...

Overall, I very enjoyed this part of the series. I loved the excitement, the pace of the novella, the humor and Lily's laugh out loud moments. There is a ton of good humor in this book, a very light read, good chick lit which makes it very easy to get into Lily's life and it works so well. The characters were fantastic, the plot kept me highly entertained the entire way through. I loved seeing how everything of Lily’s plans finally coming together towards the end of the book.

Thankfully the series continues in December with Maggie Does Meribel, because I don't think I am quite ready to let the series go just yet... I can't wait to get my hands on it and find out which kind of an adventure Nicola has written for us next.


4 cupcakes for Lily Does LA

More information about this book: Amazon.co.uk / Amazon.com / Goodreads
More information about the author: Website / Twitter Facebook
  

0 Kommentare:

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.